How to Get Rid of Tracking by Google

It’s a common thing now that Google tracks your location all the time you have an Android device (or iPhone with Google services). That unclosing eye may bring you some benefit by better predictions or recommendations, but we understand if it makes you feel uncomfortable. Now Google recognizes this possibility and lets you delete your traveling history after some time.

Not that Google left no option of deleting or turning off this feature before, but you had to do it completely manually, via app settings. It was a bit annoying and hidden too far, so you could experience troubles unless you inquired on purpose.

But since 2019 you have another option that lets you clear your location history after some period of time. Choose the period for storing your location history; all the places you visited before would be cleared.

So far there are few options, namely just two: keep the history for three or for eighteen months. All the places you have been before will be no more available. But it’s better than no option; each of these may be useful in case you change your habits or frequent locations.

How Do I Turn On Automatic Location Deletion?

Google Office

If your device is tracking you, probably you have Google Maps app installed, so use it. The following steps are identical, regardless of whether you use an Android device or an iPhone.

  • Open Google Maps;
  • Select Menu in the left upper corner and go to “Your Timeline”;
  • Tap the “More” icon in the right upper corner and go to “Settings and privacy”;
  • Scroll down and open “Location Settings”;
  • Find the option “Automatically delete Location History”;
  • Follow the instructions then.

You may also prefer the most radical way and turn off location tracking completely. If so, go to your Google account and visit section named “Location History”. We remind you that Google is tracking you constantly, but it cannot do it without your consent. To stop sharing your location with the Corporation that dropped “Don’t Be Evil” motto, you need to do the following:

  • Launch your Gmail app;
  • Tap the Menu sandwich button in the left upper corner and select “Settings”;
  • Tap on your account and select “Manage your Google account”;
  • Tap “Data & Personalization” option;
  • Find the subsection “Activity Control” and select “Web and App Activity”;
  • Select “Manage Activity” and then go to “More” (in the right upper corner);
  • In the section “Keep your activity for…” select how long you want your activity stored;
  • Tap “Next” and confirm your choice.

Take This and Don’t Blame Palo Alto

These new options are provided by Google to give users more control over their personal data; this is also a way to reject accusations of misusing user data. Now, if you don’t want Google to personalizing your experience this way and consider it Orwellian, you can limit its access to your data.

There is an even more radical way of cutting sharing your data, called Incognito mode; it prevents many of Google apps from tracking your activity. At least, it’s better to know that this option is somewhere within your reach.